Фондация „Елизабет Костова“
25 Юни 2018 | 12:00

Recipients of the Interdisciplinary Art Award (New Artists Award)

We are pleased to announce the winners of the INTERDISCIPLINARY ART AWARD (New Artists Award).
Yasen Vasilev and Petko Tanchev received the award for their work Borgestriptych!
Yasen Vasilev is a Bulgarian-born poet-playwright, whose work investigates the connections between the written word and the human body in the form of writing, live performance and research. Educated at the theatre academies in Sofia and Shanghai (BA in Dramaturgy and MA in Intercultural Communication), he's the author of two poetry collections, numerous spoken word shows and five plays: The Walled In Ones (2012-2013, Nikolay Binev Theatre, Sofia / published by Asymptote), Borgestriptych (2014, Swatch Art Peace Hotel, Shanghai / 2016, DNK Sofia), Elevation 506 (2015-2017, developments at Theatre Drachengasse, Vienna; Red House, Sofia; Drama League of New York; Bulgarian National Radio), Ishmael (2016, Nau Ivanow, Barcelona) and Erasmegidio (2017, Quartieri dell'arte festival, Italy).

Petko Tanchev is a visual artist based in Plovdiv, Bulgaria. In 2008, he graduated from the National Academy of Art, Sofia with a bachelor’s in Scenography and continued with a master’s in Original Visual Performance Design. He has worked as a stage and costume designer, with a keen focus on incorporating video installations in live theatrical performances. He also did numerous art projects that have been featured in museums, music clubs and festivals both nationally and internationally.
Borgestriptych is a contemporary text for theater that draws inspiration from three short stories by Jorge Luis Borges – "Death and the Compass," "The Other," and "The Library of Babel." It takes the narrative from the first one, the characters from the second, and the setting from the third. In a universe inhabited only by versions of Borges himself, a famous detective is investigating a series of murders with a religious ritualistic pattern.

More information on the latest version of the piece can be found here.  

The New Artists Award, to be solely funded by the American Foundation for Bulgaria, is designed as the first in an annual series organized by the Council for European Studies in conjunction with Bulgarian Concert Evenings in New York, the Elizabeth Kostova Foundation, the Consulate General of the Republic of Bulgaria and the Permanent Mission of the Republic of Bulgaria to the United Nations in New York. This collaborative event was aligned with CES’ theme for the 25th International Conference of Europeanists, “Europe and the World: Mobilities, Values and Citizenship,” by building bridges and strengthening ties with smaller Central and Eastern European regions, thereby highlighting their importance within Europe and the European Studies field. The spotlights of this year’s grant shine on new collaborative, interdisciplinary work produced by emerging and established artists in Bulgaria, as well as Bulgarians in other countries.

The decision was made by:

Milena Deleva, Elizabeth Kostova Foundation;

Lora Tchekoratova, Bulgarian Concert Evenings in New York;

Nicole Shea, Council for European Studies;
Ted Vassilev, American Foundation for Bulgaria.
Copyright © 2007 - 2019 · Фондация „Елизабет Костова“ · Всички права запазени

Абонирайте се за електронния ни бюлетин

Следвайте ни